FAQ

Here, you can find the most common questions and answers related to iGRAD. If you could not find an answer to your question here, please contact us via email or visit us in our iGRAD-Office.

How many workshops do I have to attend in order to successfully complete the iGRAD Core Curriculum?
  • You have to attend three 2-day workshops as well as the seminar “Good Scientific Practice”. Each of the 2-day workshops can be replaced by two 1-day workshops. You need at least one workshop from the field of competence Presentation/Communication/Rhetorics, as well as one workshop that deals with either Project-/Self-Management/Organisation or Teaching/Learning/Didactics. You can find more information about the core curriculum here.

I’m a member of one of the affiliated doctoral programmes. Do I have to complete the iGRAD Core Curriculum in addition to the qualification programme run by my own doctoral programme?
  • No. Normally, the qualification programmes offered by iGRAD’s affiliated member programmes cover the core curriculum offered by iGRAD. Special workshops for key competences run by individual doctoral programmes are usually organized in close cooperation with iGRAD, in order to assure that they are compatible with the core curriculum. In case of doubt, please contact the relevant coordinator in your graduate school or the iGRAD office.

I’m doing my doctoral research at the MNF but I’m not a member of either a graduate school or a structured doctoral degree programme. Am I still entitled to attend the iGRAD workshops?
  • Yes, if you become an iGRAD member. Membership in iGRAD is open to all doctoral research researchers at the MNF, if all the basic requirements are met (nomination of a co-supervisor, at least one supervisor is a member of iGRAD).

    You can find more information about the membership here.

I’m doing my doctoral research at the MNF but my research project is located at the UKD, FZJ, IUF, or DDZ, or a comparable institution. Am I still entitled to attend the iGRAD workshops?
  • Yes, membership in iGRAD is open to all doctoral research students at the MNF if all the basic requirements are met (see above).

Does iGRAD have a membership fee?
  • Membership in iGRAD is free.

    In most cases, the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, the Medical Faculty or the President’s Office of Heinrich Heine University bears the expenses for participation in the iGRAD basic curriculum. You can find detailed information here (German only) or at the iGRAD-Office.

Who will cover the workshop costs?
  • In most cases, the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, the Medical Faculty or the President’s Office of Heinrich Heine University bears the expenses for participation in the iGRAD basic curriculum. You can find detailed information here (German only) or at the iGRAD-Office.

What is the iGRAD Doctorate Transcript?
  • Once you have successfully completed your doctorate and the iGRAD Core Curriculum, you will receive your personal Doctorate Transcript, usually at the graduation ceremony. The Transcript confirms your membership in iGRAD and documents, for future employers, the courses you took. The Transcript can also record further activities undertaken during the course of your doctorate that are related to improving your qualifications, e.g. teaching, learning new methods, attending conferences, publishing, etc. A sample Transcript can be viewed here.


How do I receive my Doctorate Transcript?
  • Please return the completed questionnaire by email to the iGRAD office, where your personal Transcript will be prepared. We would also like to ask you to copy your supervisor, or, if you belong to a structured doctoral programme, the relevant coordinating instance, into the Cc of the mail.

    Please observe our deadlines for returning the questionnaire, so that you can receive the Transcript punctually at the graduation ceremony.

Contact

iGRAD

Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf Universitätsstr. 1
Building: 26.31
Floor/Room: U1.45
40225 Düsseldorf
Phone +49 211 81-14777
Fax +49 211 81-14030
Responsible for the content: E-MailiGRAD

FAQ

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen rund um die iGRAD. Sollte Ihre Frage nicht abschließend beantwortet sein, können Sie gerne per E-Mail oder persönlich mit uns Kontakt aufnehmen.

Wie viele Workshops muss ich besuchen um das iGRAD Basiscurriculum erfolgreich abzuschließen?
  • Sie benötigen drei zweitägige Workshops sowie das Seminar „Gute wissenschaftliche Praxis“. Jeder zweitägige Workshop kann auch durch zwei eintägige Workshops ersetzt werden. Sie benötigen mindestens einen Workshop aus dem Kompetenzbereich „Präsentieren/Kommunikation/Rhetorik“, sowie einen Workshop, der entweder den Kompetenzbereich „Projekt-/Selbst-Management/Organisation“ oder „Lehren/Lernen/Didaktik“ abdeckt. Weitere Informationen zum Basiscurriculum finden Sie hier.

Ich bin Mitglied in einem der angegliederten Promotionsprogramme der iGRAD. Muss ich zusätzlich zum Qualifizierungsprogramm meines Graduiertenprogramms noch das iGRAD Basis-Curriculum absolvieren?
  • Nein. In der Regel decken die Qualifizierungsprogramme der angegliederten Mitgliedprogramme der iGRAD (Angegliederte Mitgliedsprogramme) das iGRAD Basis-Curriculum ab. Spezielle Workshops in Schlüsselqualifikationen für einzelne Promotionsprogramme werden normalerweise von oder in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der iGRAD organisiert um die Anrechenbarkeit für das Basis-Curriculum zu garantieren. Bei Unklarheiten kontaktieren Sie bitte den/die zuständige/n Koordinator/in ihrer Graduiertenschule oder das iGRAD-Office.

Ich promoviere an der Math.-Nat. Fakultät aber ich bin kein Mitglied in einer Graduiertenschule oder einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm. Kann ich trotzdem an den Workshops der iGRAD teilnehmen?
  • Ja, sofern Sie iGRAD Mitglied werden. Eine Mitgliedschaft in der iGRAD steht allen Promovierenden der Math.-Nat. Fakultät offen, wenn alle nötigen Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind (Nennung eines Zweitbetreuers, mind. ein Betreuer ist iGRAD Mitglied).

    Informationen zur Mitgliedschaft finden Sie hier.

Ich promoviere an der Math.-Nat. Fakultät, aber mein Promotionsort befindet sich im UKD, FZJ, IUF oder einer ähnlichen Einrichtung. Kann ich trotzdem an den iGRAD Workshops teilnehmen?
  • Ja. Eine iGRAD Mitgliedschaft ist möglich für alle Promovierenden der Math.-Nat.-Fakultät, sofern alle nötigen Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind (siehe oben).

Gibt es eine Mitgliedsgebühr bei der iGRAD?
  • Die Mitgliedschaft in der iGRAD ist kostenfrei.

    Die Kosten für die Teilnahme am iGRAD-Basiscurriculum werden in den meisten Fällen von der Math.-Nat.-, bzw. der Medizinischen Fakultät und/oder seitens des Rektorates getragen. Detailierte Informationen zur Finanzierung finden Sie hier oder im iGRAD-Office.

Wer übernimmt die Workshopkosten?
  • Die Kosten für die Teilnahme am iGRAD-Basiscurriculum werden in den meisten Fällen (abhängig von der Lokalisation des Hauptbetreuers oder der Mitgliedschaft in einem der iGRAD-Mitgliedsprogramme) von der Math.-Nat.-, bzw. der Medizinischen Fakultät und/oder seitens des Rektorates getragen. Detailierte Informationen zur Finanzierung finden Sie hier oder im iGRAD-Office.

    Für alle Workshopteilnahmen, die über das iGRAD-Basiscurriculum hinausgehen fällt eine Kostenbeteiligung von derzeit 200 € pro 2tägigem Workshop an, die aus Instituts- bzw. Programmmitteln getragen werden müssen.

Was ist das iGRAD Doctorate Transcript?
  • Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss Ihrer Promotion und des iGRAD-Basiscurriculums erhalten Sie ein persönliches Doctorate Transcript i.d.R. im Rahmen der Promotionsfeier. Dieses bescheinigt die Mitgliedschaft in der iGRAD und dokumentiert die bei uns absolvierten Kurse für zukünftige Arbeitgeber. Zudem können hier weitere qualifikationsrelevante Tätigkeiten aus der Promotionszeit aufgeführt werden, wie z.B. Beteiligung in der Lehre, absolvierte Methodenkurse, Besuch von Kongressen, eigene Publikationen, etc. Bitte finden Sie hier ein Mustertranscript.

Wie bekomme ich mein Doctorate Transcript?
  • Bitte schicken Sie für die Erstellung Ihres persönlichen Doctorate Transcripts das ausgefüllte Abfrageformular per Email an das iGRAD-Office. Wir möchten Sie zudem bitten, beim Zurücksenden Ihre/n Hauptbetreuer/in und, falls Sie Mitglied in einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm sind, die Koordinationsstelle dieses Programmes ins CC zu setzen.

    Damit Sie Ihr Transcript pünktlich zur Promotionsfeier erhalten können, beachten Sie bitte unsere Fristen für das Zurücksenden des Abfrageformulars.

Kontakt

iGRAD

Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf Universitätsstr. 1
Gebäude: 26.31
Etage/Raum: U1.45
40225 Düsseldorf
Tel.: +49 211 81-14777
Fax: +49 211 81-14030
Verantwortlich für den Inhalt: E-Mail sendeniGRAD